the blog
Back to -Blog

Book Of Ruby - new chapter: Loops, Iterators and Comparisons

Free eBook and Source Code
by Huw Collingbourne
Tuesday 5 August 2008.

I’ve just uploaded the latest revision of The Book Of Ruby - my free eBook devoted to Ruby programming.

This new chapter looks at the many alternative ways of iterating over objects, arrays, hashes and ranges. It also provides a first look at Ruby blocks and how to ‘yield’ them (though a later chapter will look at this topic in far more depth).

Once again, the chapter ends with a ‘Digging Deeper’ section which you can skip if you aren’t too interested in the trickier highways and byways of Ruby. On the other hand, if (like me) you like to delve into the twistier little offshoots of Ruby programming then this section is for you. In the latest chapter, Digging Deeper looks at the Enumerable and Comparable modules and explains how to sort data using custom comparisons.

Chapter 5 brings us to roughly quarter of the way through The Book Of Ruby. The remaining fifteen chapters will be released at regular intervals over the months ahead. The current edition of this eBook has 94 pages and comes complete with 74 little ready-to-run Ruby programs that illustrate every topic described in the text.

Go to the download page to grab a copy.

Bookmark and Share   Keywords:  news
© SapphireSteel Software 2014